585,602 active members*
3,552 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Dual Plasma Router Table Design Concept Idea - Any Good?

I've been reading on these forums quite a bit lately. I'm about to start my build of a 4' by 8' cutting area CNC router table and I really want to be able to do plasma as well.

I am planning on making the work table for the routing part removable in sections from the frame, allowing me to replace said table with some slats for plasma work. I don't plan on having a water table at this time. The whole thing will be on wheels, so I can roll it outside of the garage when I want to do plasma. I suppose I could have a water table hidden underneath the removable table top and do it this way as well.

An idea just occurred to me that might allow me to leave my routing table in place, but I don't know if it's remotely feasible. I'm new to plasma cutting so if I'm proposing something ridiculous please be kind but informative in your response.

My Z-axis will have a travel of about 13 inches, and I'm thinking about having some mounting points higher up from the routing table to add slats for supporting plasma work. These slats would then be removable to work with the routing table, which would now be permanently affixed.

between the slats and the routing table I would suspend a welding blanket that I can quickly hook into the table frame via hooks. with a couple inches of air on either side.

My question for everyone is this.

Would this be a suitable arrangement to stop the slag from hurting my routing table or would it burn through the welding blanket?

Good idea? Bad idea?

Would the slag stick to the blanket or would it be relatively easy to sweep off afterwards?

It would be alot easier to add some slats and clip in a blanket than to remove an entire table top.

Any other options?

I wouldn't trust a welding blanket to catch all the sparks and crud.