585,722 active members*
4,526 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Pay rates for MasterCAM programmers.

Pay rates for MasterCAM programmers.

I hope that this is not too far off topic for this forum. If it is, then I ask that the moderator please delete this thread or move it to a better location.

I started this job with very little practical experience, having never even laid hands on a full size CNC machine. As such, I accepted a fairly low pay rate in exchange for the priveledge of getting my foot in the door.

A year and a half later, I'm very comfortable with these machines and the programming. Due to layoffs and retirements, I am now the primary CNC machinist in the shop. I handle programming, setups, and part production on two lathes and two mills. And when needed, I do manual work.

To cap all that off, I have an Associates degree in Mechanical Drafting.

I'm still making the same low pay, and would like to present my boss and his boss with proof that I am underpaid.

Keeping all of that in mind, what do you think is fair pay for a MasterCAM programmer with these skills?

I look forward to seeing your responses.

Sincerely,
    Frederic

I make 25.00 per hour as a cnc programmer/operator. We don't use Mastercam where I currently work, but I'm very capable with it.

I program for other shops (mostly 3d stuff) on the side, and make 35.00 per hour......and don't get any complaints.

I have been doing this for about 17 years.

I have had no formal training. I took the plunge in 1994 and bought my first commercial machine. It was used, so there was no support that came with it. I took jobs and figured out how to do them as I went. I learned much faster than if I was working for someone else and they were paying for my mistakes.....lol.

I live in western Colorado and I would say the economic status is fairly depressed here.