585,722 active members*
4,269 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Drill setups on TTS

Hi Everyone,

I'm curious what others are doing for their TTS setup and specifically regarding drill sizes. I'm really new to this and am just looking for some setup advise.

Do you have many TTS holders holding a range of drill sizes? Or do you constantly change out drill bits?

Even just looking at supporting a small range of screws (M2.5/M3/M4/M5) it could mean a multitude of drills (a total of 16, 4 per size if you include Loose/Normal/Close Clearance and tap holes). Seems like too many to keep setup on TTS holders all the time.

Is it reasonable to only keep drills for small holes and mill out the larger ones? I've worked on a older gantry CNC before which worked well for straight cuts but circular shapes were sloppy at best at smaller resolutions. Given the Tormach's tolerances would it be reasonable to mill out holes larger than 4mm?

Thank you for your input,
    Aaron

Drills

Yes, I use TTS collet holders for drills, and will continue to add more holders as time goes on. I also use the set screw holder for a 1/4" drill I often use. Either keeps my OAL to a minimum which I like.
    RAD. Yes those are my initials. Idea, design, build, use. It never ends.
    PCNC1100 Series II, w/S3 upgrade, PDB, ATC & 4th's, PCNC1100 Series II, 4th

I use a lot of different letter size drill bits. If you have a lathe (or access to one) a low-cost solution for needing many sizes is to just turn a bunch of holders. In most of my applications, the Z depth is not critical as it's usually a through hole. I have several Tormach TTS holders that I use for anything requiring close clearance. I also use them on my Bridgeport with a standard 3/4" R8 holder. Total cost is less than $1.00 each plus my time. If you have a CNC lathe (hint, hint, Tormach) you could crank out all you would ever need!
    These were made from 12L14 for ease of machining, but you might want to use something harder.