584,861 active members*
4,671 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Screeching Steppers Harmonic/Noise Reduction

Question Screeching Steppers Harmonic/Noise Reduction

I have recently installed my steppers (1.8, 270oz nema 23s) into my cnc machine, with the much talked about TB6560 bob (24v+ power supply, running with licensed mach 3). Everything runs fine on all axes/board runs nicely, with the exception of the terrible screeching coming from the steppers when powered. Even on its lowest power setting, 1/16th steps, the motors make a high pitched screech (full steps becomes unbearable).

I am still new to cnc so please bear with me. I am suspecting my wires and board aren't grounded/shielded properly? I've tried step low active, but the steppers stall on signaling; no movement (I've not installed my e-stop, or limit switches yet). Debouncing I honestly don't know what value to enter (I've ranged from 1000 to 2000 to no effect).

I've read that some have used a lower 12v power supply to fix the problem. There isn't hum coming from the motors when idling, and they don't even get very warm when running (which is nice), so I know the motors are working fine. I am drawing a blank and hoping for some advice from someone who has dealt/ solved this. Thank You (It may also be that I have my board/ power supply on the floor, second level and it is receiving from the wires running around it, I can hear the pulse when hooking up audio equipment?)

try turning the velocity and accelleration way down until they start working them slowly increase them to find the sweet spot.

John

Quote Originally Posted by catabolic View Post