585,759 active members*
3,924 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie needs advice on CNC Router

I have been reading and searching this forum for 2 1/2 months to learn as much as possible about CNC software and hardware. Wow, not near as simple as I thought it would be. The software I feel comfortable with what I have selected but the router is a difficult story. I have a budget of $4,500-7,500 for a CNC router to be used for 3D relief and photo carving in wood or corian. Table size 25x25 or 25 x 36. I am considering 3 different machines the K2 KG-2525, CNC-Step S-400T, Laguna IQ. I am a little leary of the Chinese made machines based on comments I've read on this forum. I like the K2 because it's made in the US and supports 110v. I have emailed CNC-Step to find out if their router supports 220v @ 60hz. I can't find a lot of info about the Laguna but it looks like a decent router but since I'm a newbie that doesn't mean a lot. Does anyone have anything good are bad to share about either of these CNC routers? I am also open to suggestions. If you have a suggestion for a different router please include why you are making the suggestion just so I can learn more about CNC.

Thanks in advance for any information you share.

Take a look at the Probotix Comet or the Romaxx WD-1.

They're both reputable companies who make their products in the USA.

I've got a Probotix Fireball V90. I can vouch that their delivery time is FAST, and their products work as advertised.

I have no direct experience of Romaxx, but I have seen good reports about their products and service.

Ron. I had not heard of Romaxx before your post. It looks like a very good option. I don't know how many machines he has sold but everyone seems to like the machine. He gets a lot of praise for his support. So far I haven't found one negative comment about his router. I'll do some further research and I've narrowed my choice to K2 or Romaxx.