585,758 active members*
4,572 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9

    Crown 1060 trouble

    I am new to Okuma's and CNC in general so please understand if I state anything incorrectly. I have a Crown 1060 with a OSP-U10L controller on it. Everything moves in manual mode on the machine. I created a simple program that cuts a taper using a trial version of HSMCam Works and posted it using their okuma "generic" post processor. Everything works in the simulator through their software. I then use the MS-DOS function to load the program to the machine. So far so good. I can see the program name in the top center and the lines of code in the edit mode. When I try to use the dry run and machine lock functions to see if everything works, nothing. So I turn off the machine lock, nothing. Then the dry run, nothing. I thought that maybe with the chuck empty the machine was in a safe mode. Nothing still. I made the program even simpler and it still does not work. Below is the generic program that I tried last and it still didn't work. Would someone tell me if I'm doing something incorrect software related or does it seem machine related? There are no alarms on the machine, everything moves in manual mode. Also, the zero point is set at values of 3974.4387. I know that Okuma's are different with the decimal placement, but does that zero point sound correct? Any help is appreciated.
    %
    O132
    N0002 M216
    N0003 G00 X2 Z2
    N0004 G50 S3500
    N0101 M209 G00 X0.655 Z-0.085 TG=1 OG=1 G97 M3 S850 M42 M09 M63
    N0102 M62
    N0106 G01 X0.640 Z-0.060 G41 F0.0075
    N0107 G76 Z0.0 L0.055
    N0108 G01 X0.275
    N0109 G40 I-0.0004
    N0111 G00 Z0.16
    N0114 G00 Z2 M9
    N0115 M02
    %

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1262
    I think you need to remove the "O132" line. Okuma will look at that like it is a sub program or at least a section of the main program that you have not called.

    If you go to your PROGRAM display I'm guessing you have no code showing up except maybe the M02.

    Best regards,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks. I'll take it out and see what happens.

    I can see the entire program on the program screen or atleast what is usually displayed. I can also edit the program that is stored in memory and every line of code is there.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9
    I had to remove the O132 and the "%". I was using the single block with the dry run and machine lock on and I received an error on the first line with the "%". I though that was required or is it only for file transfer purposes?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1262
    Yes, the % is only used when transmitting over RS232. Kind of tuned that out since I see it all the time.

    I should have caught that when you said you put it in using the floppy, but like you said, It tells you when it doesn't need it.

    Best regards,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for the help. I'm now able to step through the program to see where else I've got errors.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757
    With the OSP3000 I found I needed a blank line at the start of the program. Dumb idea, and took some finding. Needed % (I think).
    Long time ago now. Weird controls. Good machine.:banana:
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3109
    Quote Originally Posted by machine_51 View Post
    Thanks for the help. I'm now able to step through the program to see where else I've got errors.
    Here is a little trick for OKUMA users, to very quickly check for syntax or end point errors, even some comp setting errors that may show up.

    What you do is exucute a RE-START past the end of the program, the graphic page will display the tool centre-line path
    - it WILL give an error saying it has gone past the program end
    - it does NOT move the machine ( only after you push the Restart button ) ( whenever "playing" with a new program, always turn the rapid, feedrate & jog over-ride pots to zero. Just in case you do push a wrong button )

    Command line is:-
    RS 9999 <WRITE> ( it can be fully typed [ don't forget the space], or push the F-key & numbers )

    RS = restart
    9999 is a line or block counter
    this number should be greater than the number of line of code in the program
    N in front of the number ( ie RS N9999 ) means to restart on that particular line, if that line number does not exist, then the result is still restarting past the program end

    Caution::::: this does NOT check S,T or M codes,,,only the calculated tool centreline paths ( tool comp is included on those paths )

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1982
    program execution in machine lock state is designed especially for that on Okuma. Even oldest Okuma Howa's with some weird Okuma controls have the tumbler "machine lock"

Similar Threads

  1. NUM 1060
    By stelios_25 in forum Controller Cards
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-13-2024, 02:36 AM
  2. newbie ,need help on Num 1060
    By icetak in forum Controller Cards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 10:00 PM
  3. AA 1060 (99.6% Al)
    By melt_fire in forum Material Machining Solutions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 10:49 AM
  4. Trouble creating toolpaths for Crown
    By robinsoncr in forum MadCAM
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-28-2007, 03:06 AM
  5. num 1060 or the like
    By sc_crasher in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 02:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •