509,747 active members
2,796 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: RS232 to USB

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    0

    RS232 to USB

    Will an adapter for RS232 to USB work on the Hurco Ultimax 3 such as this one with a gender changer.
    Newegg.com - KINGWIN 5 ft. USB (M) to RS232 (M) Serial Converter Model RS232

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    163
    I have had really bad results using any USB to RS232 converters. I have tried a number of different dvices with the same bad results. Most of these use a chip called PL2303. I've had trouble with the character timing on this chip, sometimes it waits too long between sending characters and the receiver times out.
    That said, I've never used it on my Hurco because I have an old laptop that has a hardware serial port I use to archive programs and drip feed to the Hurco.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by sixshootertexan View Post
    Will an adapter for RS232 to USB work on the Hurco Ultimax 3 such as this one with a gender changer.
    Newegg.com - KINGWIN 5 ft. USB (M) to RS232 (M) Serial Converter Model RS232
    I have to agree with fasto..
    I tried a convertor on my Hurco with Ultimax 3 and ssm..
    No joy on either so I'm sticking to rs232.. it works well and stable,
    never lost any code or had any error.
    as they say if it works why fix it !!

    :-)

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    we have and old hurco and it has a floppy drive. but we had many problems with USB to RS232, all the problems are software related. I'm using an old mazak at the moment and on the last 3 days uploading many small programs without any problem. don't know if it will do great with dreepfeed. the software is "dnc4u"

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    492
    i use multi-dnc for drip feeding. has a nice editor in it for editing your g-code also. luckily i only have to use that on the tree vmc 840, not my hurco vxm42.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    0
    We've had some luck with device servers. They can be a bear to setup, but once you have them set, it's just like having a direct rs232 connection. Only you don't need a hardware switch, you use a network switch. Also, you use cat5 shielded twisted pair which is much less susceptible to interference and can be run farther without data disruption than a rs232 cable.

Similar Threads

  1. rs232?
    By deleon in forum Computers / Networking
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 03:22 AM
  2. BMC 20 RS232 help
    By Rulunney in forum HURCO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 05:04 PM
  3. USB to RS232
    By FUN4ME in forum Fadal
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 10:25 AM
  4. Hurco KM1 RS232 to USB OR RS232 to PCMCIA solution?
    By modernprecision in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 07:15 PM
  5. USB to RS232?
    By Klox in forum Computers / Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 09:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •