584,865 active members*
4,711 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design > Young's modulus for Bosch Rexroth, Aluminum frame

Exclamation Young's modulus for Bosch Rexroth, Aluminum frame

i am designing a gantry type frame for a new CNC, and I am looking to see how strong this bosch aluminum rail frame is.

I am not a mechanical engineer, but my buddy is so he needs this info to help me out.

[QUOTE= how strong [/QUOTE]

Ask your buddy what he means with strong. I could calculate tensile strength of extruded aluminum knowing the surface area of the cross section. Brinell or Rockwell hardness may be also available for aluminum.
    If he wants to know how much load he can put on a X long beam, supported on each end, before permanently deforming, likely only a lab test can tell.
    I used to be able to calculate I-beams, but this profile, with multiple 45 degree angles and holes can only be calculated with very expensive software.

Looking at it from behind my desk, it is a good profile to make a 4'X8' router table of it and safely put my weight in the center of it.

A 40" span for X, 30 for Y
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gantry_00.JPG 
Views:	45 
Size:	45.2 KB 
ID:	140394

A mill head will be attached to the darker plate. Looking to see how heavy I can go (300 lbs?)

I will reenforce it all over the place, and the bottom 4" will be in poured concrete.

300 lbs easily.

How can you tell? It is about the size of a standard wooden 2x4 which would hold the weight (on end) but would it bend on my setup pictured?

You are using 2 beams in a fairly large distance, which creates a kind of I-beam effect. The plate appears to be ~8" wide and has to be subtracted from the 40" span as well.
    I'm not saying it doesn't bend at all, maybe 0.010-0.020" or so.
    I'm not telling, but it is a good guess