585,978 active members*
4,564 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

AutoCad Inventor Software?

Do any of you more sophisticated Tormach owner/users work with the AutoCAD Inventor software as a part of your work flow?

I was just wondering because I'm presently searching for possible new candidates as a replacement for the TurboCAD software I'm using now.

I'd like to know how well it works with the SprutCAM software in converting my drawings to G-code.

Anyone have any hands-on experience with this software combination?

Thanks in advance.

MetalShavings

I use Inventor at work, and I have Sprut at home, but I have not tried to combine the two yet. Mainly because I'm still learning SprutCAM.

I cannot forsee a problem, since Inventor can export to .iges format, and Sprut can import from .iges format.

I want to recommend that you look into Solidworks instead of Inventor. I've used both. They are similar enough that a user of one can quickly become familiar with the other. But where Solidworks shines is the user interface. Because of the way it is laid out, and the way it responds to what you're doing, it is much faster.

For instance, do you want to make two lines parallel? In Inventor, you have to scroll the sidebar to Constraints. Then click the Constraints flyout, read the tiny icons on the flyout and choose the Parallel constraint. Then click the two lines. As you do this, the flyout disappears, and the sidebar scrolls back to the top. One scroll, one click, eyestrain, three more clicks.

In Solidworks, you click the first line, hold CTRL, and click the second line. Solidworks automatically gives you the list of possible constraints on the sidebar, and you pick the one you want. Three intuitive mouse clicks and a single keyboard key.

This is just one example of the way Solidworks' user interface blows Inventor's away. And don't even get me started on the Ribbon that Autodesk used to replace the pulldown menus.