584,805 active members*
5,200 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

MAPPS I assistance on Mori SL25

Hi all,
    I'm not sure if this is the right area for this, but I figured anyone using Mori's would have some experience with Fanuc conversational also :-)

I'm new here but not new to CNC machining or computers. I work as a CNC Machinist/CNC Programmer since 1986 on mostly Mori Seiki CNC lathes and have most of my experience with the older FAPT conversational system (20+ years on ZL25 and ZL35 with 15TTF controls). We recently got a Mori SL25 with MSG-500 control (circa ~2000) and it has the later MAPPS I conversational system.

I've played with this for several weeks and I'm reasonably proficient at programming using the MAPPS system.

One thing that bothers me is I can't seem to see how to define another roughing operation where the part is the shape left from a previous operation other than re-drawing the part with that shape, which is sometimes not so simple to define due to partial cuts from a previous tool.

For example I've run a roughing tool (CNMG insert) across the part and now I want to use a DNMG to continue roughing the pockets that the CNMG couldn't do.

On FAPT it was very simple, I just selected another roughing operation and picked a DNMG tool and the part that was drawn came up looking just like it was left from the CNMG operation. It was then possible to use pick-points to tell the tool where to start and end and just rough the remaining material from the pockets.

Unfortunately the manuals are very basic and of no help. We also have a Mori NT4300 with MAPPS III and even those newer manuals don't explain anything like this and the guy running it had limited programming knowledge and was no help either.

Is there something like a 'rough residual material' operation in the MAPPS I system and if so how do I do it?

Thanks in advance for the assistance

Greets from sunny Perth, Western Australia.

Regards,
    John B.