585,977 active members*
4,080 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Smooth Stepper Need Help

Hi lads,

Can any body explain what is probably a simple mistake that I'm doing?

I'm new to the CNC business and starting my first project.

And using the Smooth Stepper as the PC I'm using dosn't have a parallel port!

I installed the latest driver and plugin from Warp9 downloads page.

The software configuration ran perfect and Mach connected with the Smooth Stepper board and at that time using the USB cable for my 5V supply to the board, no problems so far! all correct LEDs on including the green (done) all perfect.

But now when the external 5V is connected I'm getting fast LED flashing a pop up window in Mach telling me no USB control device detected.

Polaritys are correct I have 5V from the power supply and the jumper is configured to accept 5V external source and I checked the 5V before connection with a multi meter.

I'd really appreciate some advice on this.

Eoin.
    Eoin

Just a stupid question but you still have the USB cable plugged in right?

Is your SS connected to another breakout board?

Thanks for the reply,

Ha Ha had to laugh yep the USB cable was still connected. The Breakout Board is the C32 from CNC4PC.

OK so here's what is happening, on the Smooth Stepper board the jumper connections JP2 and JP3 configured for 5V external are in correct positions the Jumper for selecting USB or 5V is in the 5V setting. the C32 is directly connected to the Smooth Stepper via on board connection blocks.