585,708 active members*
3,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New Machine Center small footprint.

I am looking for a small Machine Center to make some aluminum parts that I am now outsourcing to another shop. I also want to do prototyping of new parts. I currently have a ShopBot CNC router so I have a little CNC experience but I am no expert by far. I have been running the router table for about 4 years.

I have looked at the Tormach but I like this machine by David Decaussin I have talked to David but I am not sure the questions I need to be asking. I would love to have a larger machine center but my shop is full and I do not have the space for a larger machine or the budget or the electrical service requirements for a large machine my shop service is 100 Amps and I have other machines running. I do not have time for a retorfit of an old machine. I need to make chips and $$ with this machine it is not a hobby. Here is a video of David's machine.

I currently own Aspire by Vetric and that will be my Cad program.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-y03hhCCME]UMC 10: Scratch Built CNC with Automatic Tool Changer - YouTube[/ame]

Thanks for any advice you may have.

Mike

I would seriously consider a small VMC. You can run a phase perfect to supply 30amps with a 60amp input from single phase.

However, if you keep within the limitations you have chosen, and if David's machine is within your budget, I would tell him exactly what my ambitions were and ask for him to layout the machine limitations. From what I remember of the video he runs the machine fairly conservativelly. May be that is the way he does things, may be it is a function of the modified R8 taper, not sure. I do like his machine, at least in the videos, much better than the tormach, but it probably is 2x the money.

I take that back. I watched a couple of sections of the video again and his machine seems much more capable than what I recalled. I guess I just remember it wrong