585,766 active members*
4,163 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Prolight 3000 tool turret problem
Page 1 of 2 12

Prolight 3000 tool turret problem

First off I'm a total newbie at machine work! I purchased a Prolight 3000 turning center with the automatic tool turret. I was in the process of running a basic turning program when the machine plunged the tool into the work piece too far. The lathe ground to a stop just as I pushed the e-stop. After I retracted the tool I noticed the tool turret doesn't rotate smoothly as it did before the accident. When the turret is rotated it jerks and grinds and really doesn't want to move. It also won't index correctly. I think that I've damaged the stepper motor. I've checked the connections for the motor and looked at the armature and don't see anything wrong. Any advise on other problems that I have created or where I can get a replacement motor.
    Thanks!

Prolight 3000 tool turret problem

I had this problem before and it had to do with the stepper motor coupling coming loose. Remove the stepper and check the motor coupling. It should be a easy fix.

I looked at that and couldn't see a problem maybe a little contact cleaner will do the job. Since I had the motor off and I turned the turret around to check the gears is there a certain way that has to be used to "re-time" the turret?
    Thanks.

Have you checked the GCode? Was it a command that fed in too much or a glitch of unexplained origin? Steppers are pretty tough and can be stalled with no real damage.