585,663 active members*
3,080 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question New to Parametric Programming

Hi All, I'm a bit new to parametric programming, and here is my problem. I use a Thermwood CNC Router to cut masons mitres into kitchen bench/counter tops, the program I use, also has the ability to cut a curved end onto island/paninsula tops, but this function is not supported yet, I have looked through the program, and there are some parts of this function, but not all of the programming is complete. I need to be able to add the rest of the programming for it to work, there is mention of a chord (ie enter chord length) as the tops vary in width, the height of the curve should always be 10% of the chord (ie, 600mm chord, 60mm curve height, and so on), the chord will always be in the Y axis, the tops will also vary in length in the X axis. I'm not sure but after looking at a few posts, I think I might also have to learn about Macro's, as I am only used to G code. Any help with this problem would be greatfuly received.

Hi Doug,

If you can attach a drawing of your part, showing axes orientation, datum position, cutter path and 'user defined' dimensions, we can start working on building a program...

DP

Hi DP

I've been trying to attach a jpeg image, but I'm having a little trouble! the manage attachments button doesn't seem to work. Thank you for your reply, I have sent you a private message. If we can get this part of the program working, I'll buy you a carton of beer!

Doug

Quote Originally Posted by dougdownunder View Post
    The height of the curve should always be 10% of the chord (ie, 600mm chord, 60mm curve height, and so on).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chord1.JPG 
Views:	40 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	141735

The maths involved to find the radius of the circle is as follows

r= (c^2 + 4*(h^2))/(8h)
    Plug in your example dimensions 600mm chord and 60mm chord height.
    r=(600^2 + 4(60^2))/(8*60)
    r=780