585,567 active members*
3,446 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Will I be able to buy food for my cats?

Will I be able to buy food for my cats?

Hello everybody

My name is Andrea, and I am writing from Torino, Italy.
    I am a CNC newbie - well, I would like to become a newbie, to be exact!

I would like to buy/build a CNC router (I actually work for a firm building industrial automation machinery: my colleagues could easily design and build that kind of thing) to start a small business to produce small boats kits, signs and all the things my fantasy will suggest me.

I worked for several years as a graphic designer and I am used to work with drawing programs such as Adobe Illustrator, Macromedia Freehand and so on. About CAD, I can use Solidworks and Autocad.
    So I feel confident enough about my possibilities and actual skills and about the possibility to improve those skills.

The info that I am missing are about the time involved in doing jobs with a CNC router...
    I mean: should I have to make a sign like the one I attached here, let me say sized 25x25 cm (or 10'x10') starting form a 2d vector file, how much time should I expect to spend working on the file, and most of all how much would it take to the router to work the piece?

Is someone out there so kind to help me?
    I need to understand if I would be able to earn food for me and for my cats doing CNC works before to leave my actual job...

Everyone who will help me can count on all my support should him come to visit our nice city for next February's Winter Olympics! :-)

Thanks by now

Andrea Patrucco
    Torino, Italy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wood_image_4.jpg  

Andrea,