585,987 active members*
4,359 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Mach3 and yet another Chinese driver board - help please!

Hi,

Note sure if this is the right forum to post...

I'm a complete rookie with CNC and stepper motors. Otherwise I'm an electronics engineer and have not bad background IMO, simply my experience with CNC, Mach3 and steppers is equal to zero (0)!

My intention is to build a plasma cutting machine. Some day...

To start with something and figure out what I actually need I decided to go cheap and oredered one of these eBay Chineese driver boards - TB6560 based. This board: 3 axis CNC stepper motor driver controller board V type. Reading some posts here regarding very similar blue boards I decided that that one is better buffered. Anyway...

Installed Mach3 (not licensed) under Windows 7 x86, hooked up the LPT, and here is the problem:

1. Y motor only trembles left and right otherwise holds position when inactive.

2. X amd Z motors spin, but direction is random - I'm trying same direction jogging button, motors rotate left or right randomly.

1 and 2 happen only with default board setting: slow decay, 1/16 microstepping. If I change something motors do not spin, I can only hear them. Installed the Vista patch from Artsoft to no effect.

Motors are small Sanyo stepper motors (103-556-0270) borrowed from old printers just to start with something.

Right now I only have a single-channel scope (that is solvable of course), so I can eventually look for some slowly rising/falling edges...

So any clue/help will be highly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Plamen

to test the board, try this link to a test circuit :-

http://www.geckodrive.com/images/fck...tionTester.jpg

PC's with low level printer ports can be a problem that requires
    a breakout board with buffers

laptops can have additional problems with timing of the Mach3
    and in some the inbuilt printerport is infact a USB device !
    that Mach 3 cannot drive