586,005 active members*
4,928 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Angled Axis thru part centerline

Angled Axis thru part centerline

I have a round Hub..........and I want to extrude a shape thru the hub out from the centerline on a 5 degree angle equally spaced 90 degrees apart.....How do I get the plane angle and reference it thru the centerline and the face of the Hub so I can generate the sketch for extruding???

Thanks in Advance..........

Ken

It's difficult to picture in my mind what you are describing.

Would a good analogy be like a wheel with angled spokes?

If so, you may be able to use your line to to draw the length and angle of your line, then extrude to your desired size , after which you just use the Circular pattern tool to do the rest.

Please understand I'm just a newbie at this myself but, as it happens, I just finished a drawing that resembles a spoked wheel. The only difference is my spokes weren't angles, they went straight out from my center hub.

MetalShavings

Angled Axis

hi'ya kwhizz, refer to zip, check out tree and edit items to see build :rainfro::rainfro::rainfro: kelef
    Attached Files Attached Files

I would have used the right plane for the 'side view' sketch and created a 'Revolve Boss/Base' and then 'circular pattern'
    No need to create the angled plane.

angled axis

hei'ya Aquatic, was jus' trying to follow kwhizz's line of thought, that's the good thing about SW, you can get what you want, where you want-usually and in different ways :rainfro::rainfro::rainfro:- kelef