585,902 active members*
4,497 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > wish i would have bought a tormach

wish i would have bought a tormach

hi i am a newbie to this site but i think i made a mistake but not getting a tormach bought a novakon 145 your support and blogs are so much more informative i am still waiting on things from march when i got machine i am sure they are all basically the same. I sure hope i can figure mine out slowly doing so have alot of tormach tooling love it thanks again for letting me vent:drowning:

Quote Originally Posted by bob b View Post
    hi i am a newbie to this site but i think i made a mistake but not getting a tormach bought a novakon 145 your support and blogs are so much more informative i am still waiting on things from march when i got machine i am sure they are all basically the same. I sure hope i can figure mine out slowly doing so have alot of tormach tooling love it thanks again for letting me vent:drowning:
    My sympathies on the pain you seem to be going through. Making the right purchase decision on items like this can be difficult. Maybe you should consider selling your mill and buying a Tormach.

It looks like the company is either discontinuing their NM-145 or upgrading it as they have the current stock on sale for about 40% off. No warranty with the sale units, so that could mean discontinued. If so, the value could drop pretty fast and selling now might be less painful than waiting. Just a thought.

Mike

The only thing that's really an unknown is the electronics, right? The rest is just stepper motors, linear rails, and Mach3 to run it.

If worse comes to worse, you can gut the electronics, install Gecko Drives, and have a mill that a lot of people will understand how to diagnose.

I'm not recommending it now, but if things don't work out well, it's an option.

Frederic