585,743 active members*
4,918 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Electronics question

Hi, I have recently built my first cnc machine. I am an electronics dummy, so purchased a kit, comprising motors, breakout board and 3 driver cards. All the axes are free running and can be turned between finger and thumb. But I cannot get the motors to run at more than 16-20" / min. They stall easily and miss steps.
    I studied the spec sheet for the motors (nema23s') and found that when wired in parallel, they have a rating of 5 amps. But the driver boards can only supply 3 amps. Using a formula from the internet I calculated that at 5 amps the motor has a power rating of 13.75 Watts, but at 3 amps can only provide 4.95 Watts. In other words, I can only get just over a third of the potential power. I sent my supplier an email with this question and he curt reply was that I had wired them wrongly (I haven't).
    Can you guys with more electronics knowledge than me confirm that my calculation and resulting assumptions are correct. I understand that volts= speed and think that amps = torque. What would be the solution? The driver boards fit into the BOB like computer cards, so I don't want to have to buy a whole new set of electronics.
    Sorry for the length of this post,

Thanks,
    Gareth

Since amps = torque, running them at 3 amps will give you 60% of the torque they'd have at 5 amps.

The real issue here is probably voltage. What voltage are you running them at? And what is the motors rated inductance?
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)