585,604 active members*
3,486 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

What would this laser be capable of?

400mW Infrared 980nm laser module /focusable/CNC [OL-980-0.4] - $105.00 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce

To start, let me say that I am a complete laser NOOB. Ive done alot of research and come up with more confusion then information haha.

SO, I have a cnc router now. Its one I built and I am very confortable with CNC and its workings. For fun, Id like to add a laser to it because, well just because So Im looking for a low power contained unit to add to the machine. The goal is to burn wood, cut paper, and maybe then plastic or acrylic. Although acrylic may be out of reach and Im ok with that.

Im not looking for it to be fast or even cut all the way though wood, so would a laser like this one work well for what I am trying to achieve?

I am also looking at this one 150mW Industrial Red laser dode module/TTL [OLGLM150] - $28.99 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce Based off the info on Tweakie.CNC - Low Power Lasers

Any help is greatly appreciated. Also if anyone knows where I could get something like these from the US that would be awesome.

I don't know for sure, but for those prices, you can't go wrong. You already know the limitations of the laser at that power, so you could have a lot of fun, and it's cheap. Go for it!

400mW will do paper (not super thick though) and char wood. I wouldn't expect much more.

Quote Originally Posted by bpoulin View Post
    I don't know for sure, but for those prices, you can't go wrong. You already know the limitations of the laser at that power, so you could have a lot of fun, and it's cheap. Go for it!
    Sir, I like the way you think. It will probably be a few weeks before I have time to order and play around. Ill post up when I do though!

0.8W 808nm Infrared laser module diode /focusable [OL-808-0.8] - $95.99 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce