585,942 active members*
3,355 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

sorry.. stupid question

hello im a newbie to forums and building cnc routers, but my first table is done and i need help with a software/hardware issue. i want to start a thread for my issue, but i cannot figure out how...thank you for your help

Quote Originally Posted by newguy1985 View Post
    hello im a newbie to forums and building cnc routers, but my first table is done and i need help with a software/hardware issue. i want to start a thread for my issue, but i cannot figure out how...thank you for your help
    Welcome!

Well, you have your thread now ... what is the issue that you are having trouble with?

thanks!!

ok..hopefully sometime soon i will be able to post some pictures of the machine....first i will list basics so everyone knows what im working with
    -win xp sp3
    -mach 3 demo
    -pci parallel port card
    -1x...24 v power supply
    -3x...d2hb882mb drivers
    -3x...34hs5435c-02b2 3.5a 1600oz/in steppers
    -1x...x220826 BOB
    as previously mentioned i am a cnc newbie. so sorry for any stupidity that may proceed from this point..lol...
    this 3 axis cnc kit was purchased from longs-motor of ebay...now im starting to think that i should have joined this forum before i made the purchase
    i have everything wired up according to their provided schematic witch has all the same model numbers on it...and the parallel port was only supplying 3.5v to the BOB so i added a 5+ source from my pc. i do need to confirm the dipswitch settings on the drivers still, but besides the switches on the drivers, i think it is wired properly.
    is it normal for the motors to get warm just from being plugged in?(motors have never turned via software. i CANNOT get them to turn with mach 3)