585,729 active members*
4,399 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > EdgeCam > Any PCI-experts out there
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21

    Any PCI-experts out there

    Hello guys,
    Does anyone know how to write a pci that makes a dialogbox like this, including the digitise-option with all cpl's visible?
    Please check out the picture attached.
    Best regards
    Allan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cpl-pci_2.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    18
    running off memory here only, you could do a start command,then move,rotate, end command. That would let you move to a certain cpl, not sure about if all are visible or not. Ill look tomarrow and get back with you, its doable though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    60

    Examples

    The best source of examples i have found is delivered with EC itself,
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Planit\Edgecam 2011 R2\Cam\Operates includes (all?) menu operations as PCI files and if you find this selector somewhere in a menu in EC you could probably find its PCI file and figure out from all their code how they made it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    18
    What exactly are you trying to do? I've got 2 ways to do this .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Haeusser View Post
    What exactly are you trying to do? I've got 2 ways to do this .
    I’ve been working my ass off trying to make a macro or PCI that lets me digitise the cpl and use the coordinate- and rotational information, relative to my sequence-cpl.
    Need it for my post to output X,Y,Z,B moves relative to another CPL (the one I want to digitise) than the one I define in my sequence-start.

    Does it make any sense? :-)


    Quote Originally Posted by tummen View Post
    The best source of examples i have found is delivered with EC itself,
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Planit\Edgecam 2011 R2\Cam\Operates includes (all?) menu operations as PCI files and if you find this selector somewhere in a menu in EC you could probably find its PCI file and figure out from all their code how they made it.
    Thanks Tummen, but I've already been through the PCI's in Operates, but I'm very new at this and what's written in then, doesn't make much sense to me.
    Btw, as far as I can see, there is no PCI in that folder, that let's you digitise a CPL (?)

    /Allan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    60
    Ok I did not go through them all to see.
    But what you want to do sounds like a standard feature i EC.

    Did you try Menu "Move" - Index select another CPL there?
    you can even ask to Position to a CPL to get the rotation but after select Output relative To and get XYZ från another CPL.

    And if you want to have a part i a special place in the mashine but want Zero to be in another then you select the CPL to have as Zero in Sequence Initial CPL
    but also Set Mating Location to Post mating point you want and Mating CPL to the CPL that you want to use as locator for graphics.

    Im just guessing what you actually need now so i might be solving "problems" you don´t have :-)

    I just found the Index Operation, IndexOp.pci it has the selectionbox you asked about but the coding is very special in EC, like nothing i seen before.



    %AddCmdModToOperation=[OpId],[cmdIndex],[#ModCplName]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by tummen View Post
    Ok I did not go through them all to see.
    But what you want to do sounds like a standard feature i EC.

    Did you try Menu "Move" - Index select another CPL there?
    you can even ask to Position to a CPL to get the rotation but after select Output relative To and get XYZ från another CPL.

    And if you want to have a part i a special place in the mashine but want Zero to be in another then you select the CPL to have as Zero in Sequence Initial CPL
    but also Set Mating Location to Post mating point you want and Mating CPL to the CPL that you want to use as locator for graphics.

    Im just guessing what you actually need now so i might be solving "problems" you don´t have :-)

    I just found the Index Operation, IndexOp.pci it has the selectionbox you asked about but the coding is very special in EC, like nothing i seen before.



    %AddCmdModToOperation=[OpId],[cmdIndex],[#ModCplName]
    Thanks for you effort mate :-)

    I need some kind of function (%macro, PCI, PDI or whatever) that lets me change which CPL, the index moves will be in relations to.

    In this example (see attached picture), the CPL 1 is at the front of the 1st part and the datum is G54 (work offset set to B0) on the machine. The CPL 10 is at the front of the 2nd part and the datum is G55 (work offset set to B-90.0) on the machine.

    When moving to CPL 11, it is essential that the output is G55 B90.0, and not B0 as it is now.

    Does that make any sense?

    Hälsningar Allan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cpl_.jpg  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21
    If I could just find the function “index move” (NOT the operation – just the move) %macro, PCI, PDI or whatever it is and make a modified copy… that would be really great

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21
    Hello guys,
    Are you there? - I'd really like to hear some more about this.
    Best regards
    Allan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    did you find it yet?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    53
    Hello age_cph

    to create a PCI (macro),
    in manufacturing mode - dropdown menu - CUSTOM - COMMAND SAVE ON
    Auto Comments = YES (always)

    all keystrokes, digitizes, selections and inputs are now being recorded.

    from the drop down menu select - MOVE - INDEX
    enter whatever values and overrides you need - OK

    from the dropdown menu - CUSTOM - COMMAND SAVE OFF
    save the new .PCI file somewhere.

    delete the last index instruction that you just recorded.

    from the drop down menu select - CUSTOM - RUN COMMAND FILE
    browse to / select / run your new PCI file.

    You can open the .pci file with the Editor
    See Edgecam Help - PCI Directives

    *******
    for more complex PCI's - Command Save recordings
    build all the instructions in the list as desired then
    turn Command Save ON
    Sequence - right click - Regenerate
    Command Save OFF

    everything that regnerated was just recorded.
    in the PCI file you can identify sections for line
    or geometry selection by digitize on screen.

    the PCI just fills in all the boxes and options of the instructions
    * Setting modifier 'Datum Type'
    %SetModifier=[cmd1],212,Absolute|1

    if its an instruction that requires interaction / geometry selection / digitize
    replace the geometry selection code in the PCI with the
    %ASKDIG directive (and #FINISH is a right click)
    - then the PCI will ask you to select the geometry
    every time so you can run it on any part

    because the schematic of your tombstone and CPL assignments
    doesn't make any sense - at least not to me.
    that's probably why no one responded 6 months ago to a previous post.

    I hope this gets you closer.

    Jim

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    53
    Hi Allan,

    trying to make sense of your schematic,
    the offset registers G54 G55

    the XYZB values in each register define a X0,Y0,Z0,B0 location,

    with the G54 B offset set to zero outputting the command G54 B0
    will rotate the tombstone to the B0 position.

    with the G55 B offset set to -90 outputting the command G55 B90
    will rotate the tombstone to the B0 position. (no motion)
    and only shift the XYZ coordinate to G55 Part2 (right side) location.

    If you then output G55 B0
    it will rotate the tombstone to the -90 position.
    (Part 1 right side is forward)
    but the XYZ coordinates will remain the same as
    Part 2 right side.

    *********************

    I think you are making this more complex than it really is.

    from the schematic view you need to create 4 CPL's 54/55/56/57
    one for each face - all set with B offset = 0

    G54 Part 1 front face at B0 (CPL1)
    G55 Part 2 right side at B0 (CPL11)
    G56 Part 1 right side at B-90 (CPL2)
    G57 Part 2 front face at B90 (CPL10)

    In Edgecam the XYZ axis of the CPL must always be aligned
    with the XYZ axis of the tool (rotate the CPL's as required).

    ***********************

    In manufacture mode when you use MOVE-INDEX (Absolute)
    and select the CPL from the list it will output the next
    available work coordinate number IN SEQUENCE. (and B rotation move)
    (once a CPL is selected / assigned Edgecam remembers when you reselect it)

    ***********************

    If you select MOVE-INDEX (Incremental)
    the CPL will be selected and the XYZ coordinate output reference
    will change but it will NOT change the current work offset number.

    ***********************

    If the CPL Z axis orientation is different
    it will automatically output a B move command.

    ***********************

    If you enter an OVERRIDE value (54-55-56-57-58-59) it will force
    the output of the Gxx work offset coordinate number
    if you want it selected / issued out of sequence.

    ***********************

    If your machine is limited to 6 CPL's

    If you use MOVE - INDEX - Incremental and Datum Shift
    it will output a temporary G92 SHIFT from the
    current selected XYZ work coordinate system.
    so you could use 1 coordinate system for each B position

    ***********************

    OR

    set one coordinate system G54 ONLY
    at the bottom center of the tombstone / pallet

    measure the exact distance to each part / face /corner
    touch off the fixed edges of the holding fixtures in the machine.
    subtract the values from bottom center of the pallet.

    position the parts in Edgecam relative to the TOP CPL
    with the exact same position / location as on the tombstone,

    create all the necessary CPL's - as many as you want
    Save the .ppf file as a template file for that tombstone fixture.

    In the machine:
    G54 offset is the center of rotation and bottom of pallet - never changes.

    Now all INDEX moves are G54 Incremental.
    only the B rotation will change.

    drawback is the Gcode numbers XYZ output have no relation to the part dimensions.

    ***********************

    Hope this helps
    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. need CNC experts in SE USA
    By BILL WRIGHT CCR in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 03:32 PM
  2. Any YAG experts around?
    By dar303 in forum Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2008, 07:27 PM
  3. Need Help from the experts
    By studysession in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 03:00 AM
  4. Any AB PLC experts?
    By jderou in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2005, 02:14 AM
  5. any pic experts?
    By posix in forum PIC Programing / Design
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 08:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •