584,846 active members*
4,532 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Moving gantry.....or moving stage

I am a newbie who is looking to build a table top router CNC. Before I start buying parts I need some help in the design. I want to my unit to be about 2 foot by 2 foot. (size also depends on what parts I find on Ebay)

However, I have a design question....Moving gantry or moving stage? Does anyone have any opinions on this for a small unit like this? I've also seen a small unit..(couldn't find the picture again) that has an open ended gantry. Is this a design problem?

Thanks

My opinion is that a bridge style machine is about the easiest to make at home. A bridge machine looks like a gantry but is far more simple. The table on a bride machine moves - this is the X axis and you have to allow space for it travel beyond the ends of the machine.

The Carriage, which is the Y axis moves along the bridge and the Z axis, is mounted to the carriage and moves up and down. This allows you to build the bridge rigid and solid and eliminates the problems with racking associated with gantry designs. The X axis way system is also simplified as is the motor mounting and location of where to run the ball screw for the X axis.

However, at some point in size, the gantry makes more sense as the table is stationary and you don't have any overhang to deal with. This also makes for a more compact, large scale machine. Each person has their own definition for "it's too big for my shop", but in my rough opinion on this, once the X axis travel exceeds 36", then it's time to consider a gantry machine.

Chris

If you move the table, which I am doing in my m/c, you need double the space in x and y than if you move the gantry.
    I'm fixing my spindles because the weight of my table + workpiece is 4.5 lbs.

Ok...that makes sense. Do you consider the picture I've attached a "bridge" type? I found this in the DIY section. I like the simplicity of it.