585,749 active members*
3,872 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

sanding on 3D

Hi,
    I'm a newbie in CNC world, just learned to make 3D artwork. I machined a ready vector graphic to see how it works and this is it:

http://i55.tinypic.com/6px1ki.jpg

sorry for low resolution, currently no better camera available

I would like to ask:
    1. if there is any known way to sand the 3D art work by a CNC tool, or if you know any tutorial, how to sand 3D art work the correct way (my result are not good).
    2. a tutorial for the process of varnishing the 3D artwork, how to finish such a work is a big question to me.

I appreciate your attention greatly!

Vectric Forum • Search

here is a start...

Sanding

The only method I have found, to get down into the nooks and crannies of 3D carvings is to use a Dremel tool by hand with a diamond coated bit. And good old fashioned sand paper with liberal amounts of elbow grease. As for finishing, polyurethane varnish is what I use, and get good results. I have also learned that 3D carvings are best accomplished using hardwoods such as Oak for best results. The pine tends to split, chip, and generally break off along thin detailed lines of the carvings. I know this is probably not the answer you wanted to hear, but it is the nature of woodworking. Even in the CNC world.

First off, here is an excellent tutorial on prepping and glazing 3D carved woodwork...

GLAZING.PDF

I have been working at this same issue and have been getting better with it...

I use a small stiff bristled brush like you get at paint stores for removing the burrs and fuzzies from the creases and what not...

I also invested in a set of precision collets, and a good set of 3D bits.. and then use small overlaps, slow the machine down.. I decided that it was easier to just wait on the machine than to sit there and sand for a couple hours...

This is the bit set I bought... CM404-100B-001SET