585,670 active members*
4,677 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Dolphin CAD/CAM > Anyone using Dyna Myte 2400 with Dolphin Mill ?

Anyone using Dyna Myte 2400 with Dolphin Mill ?

Please be gentle, as I'm completely new to machining in general, and CAD/CAM in particular, strictly as a hobby.

I recently purchased a Dyna Mechtronics (Dyna Myte) DM2400 mill as my first foray into this world. Luckily it is completely functional - using the original electronics and Dyna's DynaLan conversational language. I've been able to run their canned demo program (the Dyna logo) and get a few basic steps programed in that language. But what a bear!

I've read about a LOT of conversions of DM2400s -- gutting the electronics and running Mach2/3, but I believe that is a little beyond my capabilities at this point.

Due to seeing there is a DM2400 post-processor available, I downloaded the Dolphin demo a few days ago, and find it surprisingly easy to create basic parts in the CAD side and then see the toolpaths in CAM.

My question is: Is anyone here successfully using Dolphin with an unaltered 2400 mill, using the DM2400 post processor? I'd like take the plunge, but would certainly feel better knowing Dolphin works well with this (evidently rather) rare mill before purchasing.

Thanks
    Shindog

I can't speak directly in reference to the 2400 but I will vouch that the post processor engine is very strong and pretty sure they guarantee it. I also see on their post processor page the post you are looking for is supported (Dolphin Partmaster Post Processors).

Thanks for the quick response Harley.

I've been very impressed with what I've been able to learn to do with Dolphin in such a short period -- the videos are terrific in that regard. Most of what I read online is glowing in respect to Dolphin's support, especially in the hobby arena, considering the low price for hobbyist.