585,573 active members*
3,600 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

galil 2180 and amc amps

Hi I'm new to CNCZone , this will be my first post. I've been building a CNC router for a number of years and now
    that I'm retired I have time to finish it. All I have left is the wiring etc. I have a Galil 2180 with Galil ICM 2900 and I am connecting to
    Three AMC BE25A20AC Amps Two of these amps have INV , (not -INV)at the end of the model code and two have a D at the end
    I am using Brushless DC motors and hope to run in Torque Mode. My computer seems to be talking to my galil 2180.I'm not sure
    on the settings and wiring. I have Galil tools up and running but its greek to me. So any help would be great. Anyone have a machine set up like this? I have a image i'll try to post as well ( it is attached)
    But not sure how. Rick
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2900c.bmp  

If you have everything hooked up the first thing to check is the encoders, turn them in both directions after each turn, to a TP, this will tell you if they are hooked up and working, the next is to turn the motor outputs on by a SH and then a move command, PA and then a BG.
    There is a manual tuning detail in the Galil manual, if you don't have the tuning s/w.
    http://www.galilmc.com/support/appno...s/note5446.pdf
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Encoders seem OK