585,712 active members*
4,279 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > shizuoka mill anilam crusader II problem

shizuoka mill anilam crusader II problem

hello newbie here, i just received a new (old) 1984 shizouka turret mill with a anilam crusader 2 control, there is a few problems im having with this unit. i have fixed most of the bugs so far myself. the z axis has a auto tool release up top it is a pancake style air cylinder which pushes down on the draw-bar.
    the draw-bar has spring washers on it and the lower portion of the draw-bar has a split tapered shaft where the tool is held so it shrinks (so to speak) and lets the tool out and vis a versa. the problem .....lol when i hit the tool change button the cylinder crams the z axis down for example the z axis is holding or trying to then gives up and faults code 18 and faults the z driver board. then i have to reset the board and crusader then it will do this over and over.
    im kinda new to the cnc stuff myself so im trying to understand all the terms and stuff , i would think there is something that should shut off the z axis momentarily , when the tool-changer is activated i can hear the driver board and fans lower speed and noise cause its straining, i know its not right thats obvious... im wondering how it originally worked?
    there are clamps that slide under the lowest spring washer to hold it from going down ....but there seem to be a window of room that will never go away so it still loads the driver boards and faults out