584,861 active members*
5,116 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > T-Slot CNC building > How do I cut t-slot profiles?

How do I cut t-slot profiles?

Really silly qiestion, I know...

How do I cut t-slot profiles so it still looks nice?

And how would I cut in an angle?

I mean, what machine is suggested?

Many have had success using tablesaws & SCMS. IIRC, WD40 was used as a lubricant. I have no experience cutting it myself, just relaying what I have read here in other posts. I'm sure other with experience will chime in shortly.
    I may not be good....
    But I am S L O W!!

Your question has merit. If it is aluminum extrusion, I have used a 10" compound miter saw (check it to be square!) with a metal cutting wheel. However, it gets very hot-so allow the wheel to cool off. Also, make sure the miter saw is properly secured and that the material is clamped. In addition, use an angle plate as a stop so that all the sections come out with he same dimension.

Quote Originally Posted by EKFER View Post
    Your question has merit. If it is aluminum extrusion, I have used a 10" compound miter saw (check it to be square!) with a metal cutting wheel.
    ...a miter saw with a metal cutting wheel... That's low cost enough for me! Thanks!

I use a miter saw with a non-ferrous metal cutting saw blade. I wouldn't use a cutting wheel.

I've also used a regular carbide tipped blade as well, with a wd40 as a lubricant.

Miter saw with a carbide blade for cutting non-ferrous metals and ATF (Automatic Transmission Fluid) as a cutting fluid (better than WD40). Make sur the blade is the type with the laser cut anti-vibration slots and you can get a finish that is almost mirror smooth. Fabricate a jig using wood to hold your material in a consistent manner and with a bit of care you can get better than 0.01" accuracy.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.