585,762 active members*
4,327 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Wiring Gecko G540 to PSU

I'm a total novice at anything electrical. I took my psu and gecko driver to the local electrical store with the hope they would tell me what wire I would need to wire the driver to the PSU.

They looked at me strangely and said they had no idea. Showed me the endless racks of different wire they had for different things which didn't help me at all.

Can anyone tell me what wire I need? I thought it would be pretty straight forward but it seems not!

Thanks for your help,

Rory

For general use hooking up P.S. drives etc, you need to ask for control or hook-up wire, single conductor stranded, I don't know what the designations are in Australia, but there is TR64 which is nice as it has thinner insulation, also TEW or THHN.
    Cablek - CSA TR-64 wire
    Select the gauge according to the current requirements.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

The G540 has an internal 7A fuse, and it is limited to 50V. These are your limits; I think it is a good idea to wire to the limits with a bit of extra capacity (say, 10A at 50 V) so you don't have to rewire later. It is only a few feet of wire after all!

I'd suggest 16 or 18 gauge, single conductor, stranded. I'd suggest red and black. Red is positive, black is negative. It's actually hard to get a 16 gauge wire into the connector block, you will need to cut off a couple of strands. If your wire will be a couple of feet, I'd use 16. If it's a couple of inches, 18 is okay. You should be using 20 gauge from the Gecko to the motors.