585,567 active members*
3,531 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Rhino 3D > how to add a wall thickness

how to add a wall thickness

Lo!
    I'm a noob, so bear with me.
    I have drawn a figure in Rhino. Its shaped a bit like a cigar cut in half. It is not symmetrical. Not even close.
    Now I need to change the figure so that it would have a wall thickness (to print it with 3d printer).
    Do you have any suggestions how to do this in easy way.
    Thanks already in advance.
    T:a

There is a web site just for you. It is called CADJUNKIE.com There are free RHINO tutorials on this site. It is basically a 6 week college course starting with the basics and ending by creating 3D objects. I think what you are looking for is in week 4. Here's a link:
    <http://cadjunkie.com/1239/rhino-basics-week-04> Don't be shy, this is a good place to learn Rhino look around, you're certain to find exactly what you need.

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by yllis View Post
    Lo!
    I'm a noob, so bear with me.
    I have drawn a figure in Rhino. Its shaped a bit like a cigar cut in half. It is not symmetrical. Not even close.
    Now I need to change the figure so that it would have a wall thickness (to print it with 3d printer).
    Do you have any suggestions how to do this in easy way.
    Thanks already in advance.
    T:a
    By 'figure', do you mean a solid? Or just one surface?

If it is as simple as a base curve that was extruded in an even fashion, then I'd just offset the base curve, extrude that, and just join up all the surfaces (may need to draw up some additional surfaces to link these two surfaces and, thus, define the actual 'thickness').

If it's a solid/polysurface then I'd probably just scale3d it from the center of the solid. Although, I'm not entirely sure if that'd work in your case, as you say that it's very asymmetrical.

I don't know how to do it on a NURBS object,