585,560 active members*
3,360 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Constant Torque Servo Choice and Control

Hybrid View

Constant Torque Servo Choice and Control

I am an aerospace engineering student, so industrial servo's aren't really my strongest area. I am currently working on a gravity simulator project that requires a servo to apply a constant torque on a cable attached to a rover below the gantry while it slides along an x-axis. The rover will be about 40 or 50 lbs (could be scaled down if necessary), and for simplicity sake I would attach a 2 inch diameter rotor so that the maximum continuous torque I would need would be 40-50 lb-in. Ultimately, the goal is to maximize the torque resolution to within 0.01 lb-in but we aren't sure if thats feasible yet.

We are probably going to be getting some servo drives from Advanced Motion Controls through their University Outreach Program. The list of available drives is attached.

I found several servos on Ebay that meet the torque requirements for the project listed below, but I'm not sure which would be the best for maintaining constant torque. I think all of these can be driven with one of the drives listed at the bottom for most of these I think I would end up using the B30A40.