585,733 active members*
5,131 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Hobby Discussion > New to RC-Hobby CNC...

New to RC-Hobby CNC...

Hi all,

I am involved with Scale RC aircraft and have recently come into possession of a Roland MDX-15 Bench top 3D mill. I intend on using it for aluminum to cut parts and also to cut master molds for plastic injection. But I have never run a mill myself, even though I have some experience with 3d CAD. The CAD software is Rhinoceros 3.0, in case you were wondering.

BTW, I already have a 3d model of a simple part I want to cut, but have no idea exactly what to do next. I do have some pieces of aluminum stock to try, and will get some wood as well to start out with... I am just clueless where to start... How do I mount the stock? What cutter do I use? So many questions, so little time!

Any help or info you can give is greatly appreciated!

It is hard to answer your question without specific's on what you are going to cut. You have to realise that machining is not something you learn over night. It has taken me 25 years to accrue the knowledge I have of machining.
    How to hold your part? Depends on the part and the geometry you are machining. You can post a file of the part you are trying to make and then others can comment on "how" to do it. Most of the time you are looking at a vise to hold your work.
    I don't want to discourage you but there is a LOT to learn about machining! Stick with it.

Help

Hi Andrew,

I sent you a PM.

John
    2007 HAAS TM-1P OneCNC XR5 Mill Pro. Shopbot PRT running Mach3 2010 Screen Set, Super PID and PMDX Electronics.Check out my Gallery on: http://[email protected]

Nice page John. I believe you are the best person to help Andrew on his way.
    Have a fine day gentlemen!

Cutters and materials

BTW, I submitted a similar post in the benchtop forum...
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/bencht...ml#post1054201