584,812 active members*
5,443 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > GibbsCAM > Considering GibbsCAM with Haas and SolidWorks

Considering GibbsCAM with Haas and SolidWorks

Hi,

I am a complete newbie at CAM software. I have an R&D shop with two very experienced machinists that have been making great parts for me with a manual Hardinge lathe and a Bridgeport EZ track mill. I just took delivery of a Haas TM-1P mill and ST-10 lathe. I was thinking that we could do the programming conversationally, but that will not quite cut it for the mill.

Our products are not too complicated from a machining standpoint. They are blocks with holes and threads, valve seats and solenoid stems etc. There is no complicated surfacing. The design work is done on SolidWorks and NX (mostly SolidWorks). We already have solid models for all of the parts. the machinists know some G-code and we have a few guys that write code directly for production parts.

I want CAM software that I can run from the SolidWorks environment and not too hard to learn. GibbsCAM may do the trick, but it sounds like it is cheap to buy, but lacks support. From researching the Haas and SolidWorks websites I fond that:

Mastercam
    BobCAD-Cam
    Esprit

May also do the trick. Will GibbsCAM work for me? Any pros or cons on any of the above packages? Suggestions welcome.

Cheers,

Joe

bmwjoe
    Will GibbsCAM work for me?

It will work very well for you, & easiest to learn of the cam programs you have picked,

There support is also great, there sales people, reseller in your area will help you with anything you need, if he can't then you call Gibbs direct to get the information you need

Get them to come to your shop
    Mactec54

Hi
    Info your Parts are easy try open source
    Look at heeks or similar
    Cu
    Thomas