585,754 active members*
3,805 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Considering Mastercam with Haas and SolidWorks

Considering Mastercam with Haas and SolidWorks

Hi,

I am a complete newbie at CAM software. I have an R&D shop with two very experienced machinists that have been making great parts for me with a manual Hardinge lathe and a Bridgeport EZ track mill. I just took delivery of a Haas TM-1P mill and ST-10 lathe. I was thinking that we could do the programming conversationally, but that will not quite cut it for the mill.

Our products are not too complicated from a machining standpoint. They are blocks with holes and threads, valve seats and solenoid stems etc. There is no complicated surfacing. The design work is done on SolidWorks and NX (mostly SolidWorks). We already have solid models for all of the parts. the machinists know some G-code and we have a few guys that write code directly for production parts.

I want CAM software that I can run from the SolidWorks environment and not too hard to learn. Mastercam may do the trick, but it sounds like it is cheap to buy, but lacks support. From researching the Haas and SolidWorks websites I fond that:

BobCAD-CAM
    Gibbs CAM
    Esprit

May also do the trick. Will Mastercam work for me? Any pros or cons on any of the above packages? Suggestions welcome.

Cheers,

Joe

I have not run Solidworks at all, so not comments on running MasterCam inside Solidworks. As stand alones, MasterCam beats GibbsCam hands down on the ability to tweak tool paths. GibbsCam (once you get past the learning curve because there is no built in help files mainly) is simpler to use and in many cases is quicker from model to machining. If you did not already have Solidworks, I would only recommend MasterCam. The ability to draw and construct in MasterCam is waaaay easier and GibbsCam.