585,752 active members*
3,798 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Buying a Manual Milling Machine to Make VMC or Routers

Buying a Manual Milling Machine to Make VMC or Routers

Maybe I am going through a typical path:
    Step 1) Registered on CNCZone
    Step 2) Started reading the project logs
    Step 3) Bought a CNC router
    Step 4) Reading more project logs, trying to make my router better
    Step 5) Bought a bunch of parts
    Step 6) Started Designing Machines
    Step 7) Having friends making parts
    Step 8) Thinking about buying a manual milling machine to make parts by myself ...

Now I am at step 8)

Seriously thinking about a manual milling machine. I think this is a right way to start. I am an electronics designer and consultant. Believe it or not my whole house is in solidworks, even got my faucet modeled.

Again, I will say I learned a lot from this forum.

So back to the topic. I am buying a manual milling machine. It will be in the basement of my new house. Budget is $2000 to $2500. For good reasons may bump up the budget.

Thanks for HOSSMACHINE's Mill Comparison Sheet. I started from that sheet and narrowed down the options.
    This is his sheet:

Because I am planning to use the mill to machine parts for the vertical CNC machines or routers. I think I will need the long X travel. Just talked to Pat at Machine Tools Warehouse, he got a few in stock and new batch coming. I am planning to get the MD001(IH Clone) in May or June. The price is $2300+$150shipping. Price looks good to me. and I know it is only the start...

Anyway, just want to have a good start point.
    Everyone in Hoss's sheet looks pretty good to me. I also search the zone with those model numbers. Each one has its pros and cons. I picked MD001 pretty much by the travel, and of course it looks good!