585,761 active members*
4,101 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

hardware and software

Hello- and thanks for taking time to read this. i am a cnc machinist with 28 years experience in tool and die, and am looking for my first cnc router/mill engraver for some small businees ideas i have in mind. if this question has been asked before, please direct me to the appropriate thread.

what i am looking for would be an entry level machine, with an approximate work envelope of 24"x36" with Z axis of 10". its primary function would be in wood, and non-metals, with the capacaity to contour mill, and do light engraving in metals.

software to go with the machine to perform per above outline, using scans of artwork to vector and g code generation, and straight g code programming for basic functions.

again, thanks for any help!

It might be worth your time to check-out the Zenbot line of products. They are fast, inexpensive and accurate. The largest table length is a little shorter than what you are looking for, but it might just work depending on your requirements. I personally have the smallest unit offered by Zenbot (Mini) and have been active in using it for several years with little to no maintenance. I don't think you are going to find very many options with a 10" Z travel. Perhaps slicing the model in your CAM software into multiple layers with the eye to recombine would work.

Zenbot CNC Routers

Somehow I doubt a real tool and die guy

will be very impressed with the accuracy of a ZenBot. They are inexpensive, and they do work to some degree, but for people who think in "tenths", even the best commercial routers will have a hard time measuring up...

Andrew Werby
    ComputerSculpture.com — Home Page for Discount Hardware & Software