585,728 active members*
4,051 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > GibbsCAM > remachining of old Mold Block

remachining of old Mold Block

I am new to Gibbs and the forging industry. I am currently using Gibbs to post programs to resink (remachine) mold blocks. I face off the old mold blocks about .100 to .250.
    My question is. Does anyone know how to fix Gibbs so that i'm not cutting air?
    The mold block that i face off is getting the same impression as it had before. I just dont want to be cutting air till it getts to the part of the old impression thats left, then machines down that .100 or .250 to get to final depth.

Quote Originally Posted by masks35 View Post
    I am new to Gibbs and the forging industry. I am currently using Gibbs to post programs to resink (remachine) mold blocks. I face off the old mold blocks about .100 to .250.
    My question is. Does anyone know how to fix Gibbs so that i'm not cutting air?
    The mold block that i face off is getting the same impression as it had before. I just dont want to be cutting air till it getts to the part of the old impression thats left, then machines down that .100 or .250 to get to final depth.
    I think you will need to re-define your rough stock. Try making a copy of the finished part. Then get rid of the original stock by deleting it or changing its properties to "part". Take your copy of the finished part and change it to "stock". Then move it plus (+) in the "Z" axis the amount stock you want to remove. Hopefully that will show Gibbs what is air and what is stock to be removed.

Species: so you can select a surface in a mold and tell gibbs whats air and whats stock? i know you could do that with geometry. didn't know you could do that with surfaces.
    am i on the right track in my thinking?