585,894 active members*
4,698 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Red face Spindle speed slows down

Today my PCNC1100 started to slow down and speed up maybe 300 to 500 rpms. So I thought I would check the VDR and it showed 56.5. I then check the manual and it said it should be at 137.0 at 500rpms. So I went to the Cal. info. in the manual. Did that and now NO spindle speed. I can manually start and stop the spindle. What did I do wrong?. Now went I try to do it I get a message that says Magic number invalid.

Thanks

Carl Boe.

PS. I'm a machinist not a computer guy so please be kind.

Mine has done that, a reboot straightens it out.

I was told there was a couple reasons neither of which were the cause of my problem. One was double clicking on “start program” button, and the other was using “start from here” wrong.

Is this a series 3 machine?

No it is a series 2. What do you mean reboot? install every thing again?

Carl Boe.

No just turn the computer off for a min and start it again. It may or may not help but it's easy enough.

I did that a time or two all ready. What about the invalid magic number?

Carl

You are not doing what is written:

Set the speed to 500rpm with the belt on the low range. VFD should read 35 Hz. Record what the number actually is and enter it in correct box on the "Speed Calibration" page as per the instructions.

Phil

Quote Originally Posted by carlboe View Post
    Today my PCNC1100 started to slow down and speed up maybe 300 to 500 rpms. So I thought I would check the VDR and it showed 56.5. I then check the manual and it said it should be at 137.0 at 500rpms. So I went to the Cal. info. in the manual. Did that and now NO spindle speed. I can manually start and stop the spindle. What did I do wrong?. Now went I try to do it I get a message that says Magic number invalid.

Thanks

Carl Boe.

PS. I'm a machinist not a computer guy so please be kind.

Phil