584,802 active members*
4,902 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > OpenSource CNC Design Center > Open Source Controller Boards > open source Atmel/arduino PID motor control
Page 5 of 13 34567
Results 81 to 100 of 250
  1. #81
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3498
    Quote Originally Posted by timmyb199 View Post
    Mike,

    I you stop in, do you have a .pde with code with updated pins. I cant get his to compile now and after 5 hours of trying to get the lcd i have to work with his i am losing my mind. I have a 16/2 lcd. I can get it to work but not with his library. Any help would be much appreciated

    Tim
    Tim,
    I am still involved in other projects, however, i purchased all the parts for this PID. I shall soon clear my hand on this project however, my approach will be totally different...
    What do you think if we put all the stuff of SuperPID and much more in it?.. The parts cost me around 10US dollars including ATMEGA328P-PU and 20x 4 LCD.
    Sorry i can't help you in this time, only if you post the Arduino Sketch..You say Arduino sketch (.pde) compile but LCD not working???Am i right?
    Regards
    http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/ http://my-woodcarving.blogspot.com/
    http://my-diysolarwind.blogspot.com/

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    timmyb199 If you are using .pde file use Arduino 0022.
    Arduino 1.0.2 file extension is .ino . what code you are using .

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    thanks for all the help guys, i have tried to post 5 times and it takes me to main page, this is a a test post

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    This is what i am using, again i am new to arduino and circuit board stuff but have been trying my best to learn.

    I attached the folder from OP.

    It says to add the libraries to arduino libraries, pid and lcd4bit

    I just reinstalled Arduino 1.0.3 and did the libraries the way he stated. It compiled

    I load it and i get black boxes on top row of lcd. I am just wiring the lcd part, i am thinking perhaos i am wrong in this manner i attached the files
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3498
    Quote Originally Posted by timmyb199 View Post
    I load it and i get black boxes on top row of lcd. I am just wiring the lcd part, i am thinking perhaos i am wrong in this manner i attached the files
    Seems to me bad wiring/loose wiring connections. Also check the contrast POT, turn it to get visible figures. Can you post a video?
    http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/ http://my-woodcarving.blogspot.com/
    http://my-diysolarwind.blogspot.com/

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    You are using old version. go here https://github.com/straga/PIDSPINO/t...mware/vSpindel
    and get new version.As Khalid said check also the contrast pot.

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    loaded the new code now i get garbled stuff, your see 0's and weird letters. I will go get my iphone fixed and post some video. Thanks again for all the help guys. I am going to mill the pcb today and maybe that will remedy some.

    I finnally got pcb-gcode to work.

    i am using an old ide cable to tie the lcd into the breadboard. i dont think that should cause an issue.

    will keep u all updated

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    Change this line LiquidCrystal lcd(13, 11, 7, 8, 9, 10); to suit your connections.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    ok i ran this code

    // initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins
    LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 5, 4, 3, 2);

    void setup() {
    // set up the LCD's number of columns and rows:
    lcd.begin(16, 2);
    // Print a message to the LCD.
    lcd.print("hello, world!");
    }

    void loop() {
    // set the cursor to column 0, line 1
    // (note: line 1 is the second row, since counting begins with 0):
    lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
    // print the number of seconds since reset:
    lcd.print(millis()/1000);
    }

    it worked great so i then

    went to vspindle 2.0 code and changed the numebrs to the above and it started up and said v spindle im not sure why i can get v2 working with the numbers it provides even when i tripple check the wires. so i am going to see if i can get the simple code to work with the numbers from v spindle after a rewire

    thanks for the help guys. i wanted to know it started up. now i am gonna try carving my first PCB board on my mill

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    i found a 10vac transformer i am going to try,

    I am curioius if there is a way we can use like a h bridge or somehting to remove the transformer aspect. it would certainly simplify the board. let me know any ideas. im looking into it myself but i am not a genious at all this yet

  11. #91
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    Stick with transformer, 10 volts will be fine
    Be careful!

  12. #92
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    been away for the weekend
    back again

    couple of points
    a) looks like I neglected to notice that D3 is used for the RPM interrupt
    - so we have to re-route the board
    b) as others have pointed out, the pins actually used by the LCD have to be passed in the first call to LiquidCrystal lcd(rs, enable, d4, d5, d6, d7)
    c) the comments in the code are close to, but not the same as the code itself!
    d) you CANNOT replace the transformer with a H bridge - that is just madness
    - you could conceivably use a resistor divider, but we're talking mains here
    - stick to the design and use a transformer
    e) 12 volts seems to be an arbitrary value
    - 5 or 6 volts would make much more sense
    - that way we could incoporate an on-board voltage regulator

    I have re-drawn the board to put the interrupts back where they belong
    of course that stuffs up the LCD pins
    there also isn't an easy way to route ISP and FTDI, so I have dumped ISP

    I'm still ploughing through the code trying to fathom some of the constants that are used
    some are quite obvious
    some are most obscure

    once I have a layout and set of code that match I'll update

    be warned the current board WILL NOT WORK as the RPM sensor is NOT connected to D3
    sorry chaps

  13. #93
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    I'm gonna pull up the original board he had and see. I want to cut a pcb tomorrow night. Will let ya know how it goes

  14. #94
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    Hookup an LCD to an Arduino in 6 seconds with 3, not 6 pins

    Shift register might be a key. Would free up allot on the board

    I thought of an alternative to the transformer cause I don't see one involved with the super pid

  15. #95
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3498
    Quote Originally Posted by timmyb199 View Post
    Hookup an LCD to an Arduino in 6 seconds with 3, not 6 pins

    Shift register might be a key. Would free up allot on the board

    I thought of an alternative to the transformer cause I don't see one involved with the super pid
    That was my point.. do not use transformer... I always use shift register with LCD to save pins.
    http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/ http://my-woodcarving.blogspot.com/
    http://my-diysolarwind.blogspot.com/

  16. #96
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    I am using this library https://bitbucket.org/fmalpartida/ne...stal/wiki/Home.

    There must be connection to pc because you need to set PID settings to your setup.
    Processing and PID FrontEnd are software which it is done.
    My opinion is that it is best use separate board with triac and driver.

  17. #97
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by Khalid View Post
    That was my point.. do not use transformer... I always use shift register with LCD to save pins.
    How are you doing the zero cross without a transformer again I am new at this

  18. #98
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    Mike or anyone. What size Cnc pcb bits do you recommend for this. I had a 2 mm and its too big

  19. #99
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    0
    I was recommended these

  20. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    0
    Hi Did anyone have problems compiling the vspindel_v3.pde using Arduino 0022 IDE ?

    I just get errors

    vspindel_v3.cpp: In function 'void setup()':
    vspindel_v3:59: error: 'poweron2' was not declared in this scope
    vspindel_v3:61: error: expected `;' before 'pinMode'
    vspindel_v3.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
    vspindel_v3:137: error: expected `;' before 'print'
    vspindel_v3:147: error: expected `;' before '}' token

    Or is there an updated sketch?


    PS. might be a thought, if your struggling for pins, is to use I2C for the LCD with the LiquidCrystal_I2C library. Any temperature probes or real time clocks could also share the i2c bus. I2C Requires the Arduino Analog Pins 4 and 5 and two pull-up resistors

    I have attached an Eagle BRD and SCH showing a PCB i made in the past, along with the PCF8574 extender Arduino library
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 5 of 13 34567

Similar Threads

  1. CNC Controller with Arduino - open source
    By Christian Knüll in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-22-2012, 10:46 AM
  2. Arduino PID Motor speed control for router
    By EL34 in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-02-2012, 11:34 PM
  3. Open Source Spindle Control
    By rcpilot82 in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 10:25 PM
  4. EMC2 (Open Source) Plasma Control w. THC
    By rugludallur in forum Waterjet General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2006, 09:25 PM
  5. Any open source or cheap driver for bipolar motor 6 Amp, 2.7V??
    By berryCR in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2006, 05:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •