584,866 active members*
5,249 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Tools / Tooling Technology > CNC Tooling > End Mills and Feeds n Speeds
Page 1 of 2 12

End Mills and Feeds n Speeds

Hey Community,

Hope someone could help shed some light.
    I am relatively new to CNC and am struggling with the whole feeds and speeds selection as I am a metric user (sorry ) always seems the good information is in imperial, which has to be converted, so I have been relying on various tools such as BobCAD Machinist Toolbox, The Machinist Calculator and a couple of online source, all of which produce varying results.

I have a Syil X4, controlled via MACH3, with BobCAM integrated to Solidworks.
    The particular tool I am making is using aluminium stock and requires the use of a 2mm diameter end for roughing/finishing.

Max rpm of the Syil is 5000rpm, so using this, the material and my 2mm, 2 flute carbide end mill data, I have gotten machining data as follows.

Depth of cut = 0.8367mm auto calculated from total depth and number of steps.
    RPM = 5000
    SMM = 31.4 M/min
    Feed per tooth = 0.012 as supplied for the mill
    Feed rate = 120 mm/min

Initial feedrate calculate by BobCAM was 990!!
    I then did some recalculations and checked a couple of calculators which came up with the 120, so when I started the job I ran it at 70 and worked for a while before jamming and snapping.

At the moment, I dont know if my problem is wrong end mill selection or my feeds are way off, so was wondering if anyone could offer some advise.

Appreciate any response.

Simon

There's a feeds and speeds wizard built into Mach3. It's not the last word in sophistication, but you've already got it, so it's worth a try.

It comes up with 127 as the answer with your input figures - so agrees with your recalculations.