585,880 active members*
9,230 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Suggestions on how to build cnc machine for guitars
Page 1 of 2 12

Suggestions on how to build cnc machine for guitars

HI All,

Been checking this place out ever since I became interested in building guitars. I have 1 guitar I put together but the body and neck were already built. I did however add some modifications to the body with a router.

I'm familiar with wood working, I work on computers for a living, have welding experience and like to build things, so I thought I'd put thse things together and build myself a cnc machine for making guitars.

My problem is that I'm so new to cnc machines I don't know what parts I need to build a machine large enough to make guitars. I am on a "home/wife" budget so unfortunately funds are limited.

So, what do I need to build a cnc machine for guitar building????

dinkyguitar

I think budget really matters. Any idea how much you are willing to spend?

I'm hoping $1000.00 but since I'm new to CNC I'm not sure if that's realistic. I'm sure once I find out how much parts go for my budget will change.

I checked out this site and saw some package deals:

HobbyCNC EZ Driver Board Packages | HobbyCNC

I'm opting for the 305oz in. motors for $275 but I'm not sure if this is enough to route wood.

BTW, is there a list of components you need to build a cnc milling machine?

dinkyguitar

One thing you can do is to imagine holding a wood router in your hand and manually start cutting your guitar parts. How big an area would your arms cover? That would give you a rough idea of the table size.

Now you want to mechanize your hand movements. You need something to hold the router firmly so it can't wiggle. Then you.......

When say "what parts I need", I can't determine what you already know about CNC. So perhaps you could be more specific.