585,987 active members*
4,436 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 4 123

Use roller chain to move gantry.

Thank everybody on this form it has giving me a lot of ideas and information on how to build a 4'x4' cnc plasma table. I am a farmer and this will be one of my winter projects my idea is to use #40 roller chain on each side to move the gantry use sprockets on each end with spring tension to confiscate for any wear which I think will be very little, on my combine chains run 5000 to 8000 ipm with very short chain length get 200 to 300 hrs before replacing chain compared to 300 ipm on cnc. Some use belting which would be smother but do not see any other benefits. Reason I like chain idea is cost, have chain on hand brought at auction cheap many years ago and www.surpluscenter.com has sprockets very reasonable. Anybody use roller chain or think this is a bad idea.

Garry

I think one big concern would be all the dust, slag chips and ect. collecting on the chain lube. I think if I were to try it I would clean the chain with WD40 and use some chain wax. Check with the local motorcycle shops on the chain wax. the reson is the wax drys and is not sticky pluss aids in lubrication and rust. Plus you have more clearance in the chain and sprocket and always have slack in the chain which may make holding a tolerance an issuse.

Have you thought about useing the chain like a rack and pinion? Like weld the chain down and run a sprocket on a geared down stepper motor or two. It might work
    if you run two chains side by side slightly stagared so as the teeth on two defrent sprockets would keep any backlash out. Hum, maybe worth a try like you said the cost is right.

John