585,996 active members*
4,544 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Align Honing or Align Boring ?

Align Honing or Align Boring ?

Seems to be a controversial subject. Some books recommend align honing others favor align boring.

jon

Jon,
    I presume that i would go align boring when wear is a problem, but sometimes honing would be sufficient.... I'm no automotive engineer. Would you be so kind to elaborate on pros & cons of honing vs boring?

Klox
    *** KloX ***
    I'm lazy, I'm only "sparking" when the EDM is running....

I would seem to be inclinded to decide after determining the amount of ovality in the bores. If just a light skim-cut is needed, I'd probably go with a hone, if you have some serious ovality, probably be best to bore it.

Just my 2 cents
    David

Speaking of the bottom end, I live next to a race engine building shop. Known the owner for years, he builds high-dollar, high horsepower engines only. Very successful at what he does. They race a couple of cars of their own. At the track, I was helping spot him one day, and thought I was seeing things, watching the tach through the back window as he launched, he left the line at about 11,000 RPM!. This car has a 331 chevy in it. (327). I asked him how in the hell it stayed together.....he just grinned. A few weeks later I was helping him clean up the shop one day...noticed a 2-bolt chevy small block with some oddness going on on the main caps. He had machined the bottom of the main caps, and made blocks that added about 3/4-1" of material to the bottom of the main cap. The bolts had been replaced with studs, and there was a hand-made stud girdle laying beside of it. I asked him about it, he laughed, then said 'you have to do something to hold it together at 13,000. Ingenuity at work....hehe.
    David