586,011 active members*
4,714 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > What are some advantages/disadvantages of rail systems and screw systems

What are some advantages/disadvantages of rail systems and screw systems

Hi All,

I planning to build a cnc machine and I've been looking at different rail systems....whether to go with linear bearing or linear carriages or other types. And drive systems, ball screws, acme screws, rack & pinions, etc.

Since I'm new to all this can someone explain the different types of systems, thier costs, the best and worst etc. Or show me where I can go to get the information?

I originally wanted to build a budget machine but looking at those linear bearing systems and ball screws systems interests me...

Also frame construction...steel or aluminum extrude?

The purpose of my machine is to make guitar necks, bodies, and small aluminum brackets...

I really like the machine, it's the size I'm looking for.

Complete 2'x3' Router Kit : Fine Line Automation

I'm wondering if I can build it cheaper the price...

dinkyguitar

One thing I know. The kit versions of the z axis will be a lot easier to assemble with good tolerances compared to someone without machining equipment and experience.

For me that's the whole point. Doing it the hard way and learning why things work the way they do. If production with lower costs is important then a kit is the way to go and there is a good selection of kits to choose from whatefver your needs are.

Cheaper usually (almost always) means less accuracy, more time, and much more aggrevation and more expensive in the long run.

Once again it depends on what your goal is.

Quote Originally Posted by dinkyguitar View Post
    Hi All,