585,589 active members*
2,945 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > My SX2 CNC build! (lots of pics)
Page 1 of 2 12

My SX2 CNC build! (lots of pics)

Hi guys -

I have been lurking in this forum for quite some time, and finally pulled the trigger on an LMS solid column HiTorque Mini Mill as well as a HiTorque Mini Lathe. I have never done any machining before, but am anxious to learn. After watching numerous youtube videos and reading a couple of machinist books, I started learning to use the tools. My first big project, of course, is to convert the mill to CNC.

I thought about just purchasing the CNC Fusion kit, but I felt that for the price I could take it as an adventurous learning experience and build something myself. Also there are just a couple of things that I am not fond of with the kit - the extension to the X-axis, covering up the Z gibs, and the preloaded bearing mechanism.

Rather, I decided to grind away some material on the underside of the table in order to fit the ballnut mount inside the carriage, eliminating the table extension. I also followed the preloaded angular contact bearing methodology found on CNC cookbook: CNC Cookbook: Eliminating Backlash, Part 1

Well, I started this journey about 3-4 weeks ago, so I will post some pictures now. Unfortunately, I got deep into the work at various points and forgot to take pics.

Laid out my first couple parts - X and Y ballnut holders

Test fitting and grinding down the table a bit for fitment

Making X table ends and bearing holders. Wanted to use dual preloaded angular contact bearings.

Since I only have a Mini lathe, My attempts at machining the ends of the ballscrews were rough - it could be done, but at a very slow and index-breaking pace