585,987 active members*
4,623 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Grounding CNC Plasma

Im a Newbie here......I just finished building my CNC Plasma Table. The table is sitting in my garage. My garage is 1600 square feet of concrete floor. Outside of the shop is also surounded by concrete. Im not sure how to go about grounding my CNC Plasma Table. I have thought about drilling a hole in the concrete and pounding a grounding rod into the floor? If so how deep do I need to go? Any Ideas? Can I ground it to a ground wire on an electrical socket going back to the fuse pannel in my home? How important is it to ground these tables? Is it a saftey issue or more to protect the electronics? Im sure many of you have ran into this same issue.....Any help would be appreciated.:drowning:

Home depot and Lowes sell a copper clad 8ft rod that works good. We drilled through our floor and hammered the rod into the dirt. It is very important to ground these machines properly.

WSS
    www.metaltechus.com

Im not putting anyone down, but asking...why? If the ground clamp of the plasma has a good connection to the material why does it matter?

--John

Plasma generators do not use ground clamps. Plasma is inherently noisy, if you do not have a proper earth ground, you risk that noise (and other things) going to things like your computer.

WSS
    www.metaltechus.com

Ahh yes, i could see the computer getting screwed up. But, every plasma (that i know of) does have a ground clamp to clamp onto the material.

--John

The ground you are talking about is for an electrical circuit. What the others are talking about is noise riding on the electrical power and in the air from the radio frequency noise generated by the pilot start on some plasma cutters.

Quote Originally Posted by johndjmix View Post
    Ahh yes, i could see the computer getting screwed up. But, every plasma (that i know of) does have a ground clamp to clamp onto the material.

--John