585,744 active members*
4,783 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Vertical Mill, Lathe Project Log > PM45m(rf45 clone) cnc build log with factory 3hp variable speed
Page 1 of 5 123

PM45m(rf45 clone) cnc build log with factory 3hp variable speed

Another rf45 clone build...

I bought a PM45m with 3hp dc motor and factory tach and variable speed just before new years. This is my first cnc so I am a newbie. I also have a Jet 13x40 lathe with dro. I am ready to start the conversion. I am going servo and looking at the Keling 34 servo kit. I downloaded Mach 3 last month and have been familiarizing myself a bit.

Any suggestions etc would be appreciated

Questions:

1. What if anything should I consider for upgrades/additions to the Keling 34 1125 oz servo kit?

Here is what it comes with-

NEMA 34 Servo Motors 3 Axis CNC Kit

A: 3 PCS Geckodriver G320X, 80V/20A

B: 3 PCS KL34-180-90 (NEMA 34) Dual Shaft, 1125 oz-in Peak 90V/40A

C: 3 PCS CUI AMT102-V KIT Encoder
    Individually Packaged Shaft-Mount Encoder with latching connector,
    Installation Tool + 3 PCS 6 feet CABLE SHLD LATCH 5PIN 24AWG

D: 1 PCS KL-7220, 72V, 20A, Unregulated Power Supply, 110V/220V

E: 5V Power Supply, 110V/220V

F: 1 PCS Breakout Board for 6 axis, Isolated signal, E-Stop or Limit Switch
    can be wired

2. Does smoothstepper replace anything above?

3. Any other options alternatives in this price range?

Once I finalize the above list I plan to order and get to work. Thanks in advance for suggestions

Here are couple of pics of the machine in Jan when it arrived:

Welded a stand:

I decided to go a different route and just get the DMM Tech 900 watt 3 axis ac servo kit. It seems more elegant than doing the dc servo route. I will post more after stuff arrives. In the meantime, I am going to tear down the mill and cut the oil grooves and look at ballscrews.