585,906 active members*
3,597 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Extremely low-cost first router

Hi all.
    After scrounging the forum for several months and tinkering around for a while, i finally got something to show.

Background: Since i'm a student I don't have huge funds to build a plasma router with big-a$$ servo motors :banana: , so i had to settle with an extremely low budget machine, meaning using whatever i had lying around and found in scrap machinery.
    Low budget meaning, so far i've spent about 12€ on it (that's what.. 15$?)

so, here are some pics:
    How it started:
    http://users.pandora.be/svendecock/f...e/100_0938.JPG
    This was scrapped, since i got binding or twisting in every single direction..not good :nono:

So i started over.. and this is what it became :
    http://users.pandora.be/svendecock/f...e/100_0939.JPG
    http://users.pandora.be/svendecock/f...e/100_0943.JPG

Now i need some stepper drivers.. the X-axis has a 3A/phase stepper, something a L298 obviously can't handle without a heatsink (don't worry i was just testing, disposable PCB )

So, c&c welcome, just be gentle ...

That's definately a low cost approach!

How do your parents feel about you using the kitchen countertop for material?

Have you powered it up or done any cutting yet, or are you still looking for the drivers?

Nice inginuity, Scud!

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.

Scud, Keep it up. I think there should be a contest to see who can build the most inexpensive machine, including electronics. Maybe keeping the specs. at +- 0.01 would be a good goal. There's a lot you could do with 10 thou.

Quote Originally Posted by mxtras
    How do your parents feel about you using the kitchen countertop for material?

Have you powered it up or done any cutting yet, or are you still looking for the drivers?

Scott