501,677 active members
5,908 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44

    93 4020 fadal 4th and 5th axis

    I am adding these axis to my machine 1 have bought 1010-5 cards and the eproms i have both ac and dc eproms have it all up and running i can jog the axis with hand wheel but i am not getting encoder feed back to the control,
    I am wondering if there is a juper config that makes the controll look at the encoder port on the 1010 -5 card , I have plus minus voltage going to my drive , but i am not getting feed back to the controller for some reason , i am connected to the encoder port of the 1010-5 card been working on this for a while , still cannot figure out the feed back, i have saved up money and bought stuff from ebay over a time period , thought i had everything i needed,
    I bought some teco servo packs , they seem to work good , used these motor and drives before on diffrent projects and they work good .
    I can also hook battery box to the card and move the axis , can jog it with the controll but no postion feed back
    Any help would be appreciatted i am almost there !
    Thanks Barry
    http://www.landwfab.com

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44

    lot of

    a bunch o views
    http://www.landwfab.com

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Your using a different motor than a Glentek? Are you sure the correct wires are even hooked up? Do your encoders have the right count? 1000 IIRC. You should have a -3 system and you must have gone through the SETP commands to activate the jogging. Is this a TR65 table?
    We have had good luck with our Fadals milling mostly soft steel and aluminum up to 5 axis. We are always looking for spare parts If you have a broken down Fadal give a shout.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44
    It's a Hoffman table with teco servos and drives
    http://www.landwfab.com

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    There may not be any kind of feedback...you may have an encoder but not a resolver.
    We have had good luck with our Fadals milling mostly soft steel and aluminum up to 5 axis. We are always looking for spare parts If you have a broken down Fadal give a shout.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44

    1010-5

    i have 1010-5 boards that ouput + and -volts,

    also they recive encoder or scale feedback, I can jog the table but it wont postion
    http://www.landwfab.com

  7. #7
    Monkeywrench Technician
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3154
    Quote Originally Posted by carbidecraters View Post
    There may not be any kind of feedback...you may have an encoder but not a resolver.
    ^ Read this please ^

    Resolver must be compatible with the signal required by the 1010 and it must be wired correctly.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

  8. #8
    Monkeywrench Technician
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3154
    I just noticed that you mentioned using -5 boards. Your machine will be a -3 or -4 machine.
    You will need to consult with more knowledgeable person than me, but there is a good chance they are not compatible.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Yes a 1010-5 may not work well with a -3 system. A -5 system can pretty much use any board 1010-6 down to 1010-4.
    We have had good luck with our Fadals milling mostly soft steel and aluminum up to 5 axis. We are always looking for spare parts If you have a broken down Fadal give a shout.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44

    eprom

    I wonder if the mother board/Eprom needs to be upgraded ? , mabe thats why i am not getting feedback to the control .

    I have direction control by jogging +/- and can return counter for the axis to zero and nothing moves, But when i move plus table moves plus , when i move neg table moves neg , just wont come into postion.
    http://www.landwfab.com

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    The EEproms are in different places on the newer boards and have different data. The only alternative (IF thats the issue) would be to upgrade to a -5 board. Your looking at around $1500 for a -5, software module and another board I cant remember the number at this time.
    We have had good luck with our Fadals milling mostly soft steel and aluminum up to 5 axis. We are always looking for spare parts If you have a broken down Fadal give a shout.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44

    Smile 1010-5

    I am using 1010-5 boards , which take either encoder or scale feed back .
    I think the eproms are bad , I have jogging with hand wheel and jog key. I sent the boards and eproms to fadalvmcparts to have them tested today , pretty sure the eproms are not translating the A and A- , B and B- sig to the control.
    I hope someone can help me figure this out .
    http://www.landwfab.com

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. 4th Axis for Fadal 4020
    By Fudd in forum Fadal
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 09:49 PM
  2. FADAL 4020 Z-AXIS WON'T GO!
    By TRACYPFAB in forum Fadal
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 02:44 PM
  3. Fadal 4020 Z axis motor overheat
    By dmac88 in forum Fadal
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 02:51 PM
  4. cutting round bar into hex on a 4th axis Fadal 4020
    By Michael82 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 03:59 AM
  5. Z axis Amplifier Fault on Fadal 4020
    By Fudd in forum Fadal
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2006, 11:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •