585,708 active members*
3,731 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Looking for info and advice

Hi, Ive been tracking down a bridgeport mill for my shop. Plan on going 3 axis CNC with mach3, geko drives, breakout board servo setup.

Can anybody tell me about this machine I have found?

As far as I know this is a working CNC machine but the tape player missing. I would gut the electronics right immediately.

Here are some questions for the more knowledgeble here:
    I would like to know what this kind of head this bridgeport is called?
    Any idea on year made?
    Anything that would make it a deal breaker?

I would also love to hear suggestions for a Breakout board. I want to stay away from parallel ports.

Im not a total noob to CNC. I have a Xylotex board powering a taig micro mill with Mach3, but Im ready to step up to some big iron.:wee:

-Rob from Southern California

Rob,

It looks like a Boss 5.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Boss 5!

Thanks for the reply. I didn't think it was a Boss because its not square in the front. Glad to have the info and I will research this one a bit more.

I do not think Bridgeport used Boss as a model designation for machines. I think Boss was their software/operating system. This looks like a Bridgeport CNC II to me. But, memory is aging, so take it for what it is worth.

ooooold boss machine

I would not pay real money for it and would hold out for something a little newer with rigid ram

Rob,

Here is one running:

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFsGslF0qGA&feature=relmfu]Bridgeport Series 1 BOSS 5 CNC 3D Test - YouTube[/ame]

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.